Scotland Day 2⛳️

Hey everyone! I am excited to blog about this day because it was the reason we planned this trip in the first place- to go to the Women’s British Open at Turnberry! So, here we go!

The day started bright and early when Teeney and I woke up to work out in the gym at the Cairndale Hotel and Leisure Club. I was really tired at first, but I felt better when I started to run on the treadmill. I ran 6.35 kilometers in about 40 minutes. I was proud of myself because I was sprinting at 12.0 kilometers per hour at an incline of 10.o to finish the run. There was a reason why I was so exhausted afterwards! After our workout, we both felt ready to take on the day. When we got back upstairs, my mom was planning our driving route for the day. Teeney and I showered, we got our things all packed up, and then we headed down to breakfast.

Today was surprisingly a little different at breakfast! I still had toast with strawberry jam, but I also had rice kris pies with milk! They were so delicious… I was glad I could take a break from scrambled eggs for a day.😉

Following the great breakfast, we left the hotel and got on the road. We drove for about 45 minutes and then we stopped at a gas station to fill up our tank. I also got a little cup of ice cream! In about an hour and a half of windy, Scottish roads (which I was asleep for most of the ride), we made it to Turnberry! I was SO excited to see the Women’s British Open in person!

When we arrived, we picked up our tickets at the will call booth (Teeney’s friend had ordered them for us) and then we parked the car. We then added our many layers (it was chilly!) and we were off! Seeing all of the ladies I had seen on TV my whole life was amazing. I was able to see many great golfers including Lexi Thompson, Suzann Pettersen, Inbee Park, Stacey Lewis, Cristie Kerr, and many more! I loved the day even more because I got to experience true Scottish weather. About 1:30, we started to see very dark rain clouds. The wind was already very strong because the course is right on the water (“The Firth of Clyde”), but by 2:00 it started raining pretty hard. I was actually happy because I wanted to experience the weather I had seen the British Open played in on TV! The rain only lasted about 10 minutes (we still got soaking wet!), and then it started to clear up. After walking around the course for a while and buying a few souvenirs from the gift shop, we made our way to the 11th hole. It is an awesome par 3 directly on the water. We stayed there for the final 7 groups, so we got to see the leaders as well! Overall, it was spectacular to see the Women’s British Open at Turnberry.

After the tournament, we drove about half an hour to our next accommodation (where I am writing this blog right now!). It is called the “Inverlea Guest House” and it is one  of the nicest places we have stayed in yet! The rooms are huge, neat, and the house is beautiful. Even the garden here is gorgeous!

Once we checked in, we went to dinner at a small Italian Place in town (the town is Ayr) called Vito’s. I ordered penne bolognese, my mom ordered spaghetti bolognese, and Teeney ordered lasagna. We also had garlic bread and a baguette with butter. For dessert, Teeney and I both had 2 scoops of vanilla ice cream. Everything was so delicious!

Now we are back in our big, awesome room. I am writing my blog, Teeney is reading on her kindle, and we have the TV show called “Mystery Diners” playing in the background.

We have had such a great day… It couldn’t have been any better. Enjoy these pictures from our day today😄:

DSC_0281
The Scottish Flag flying high at the tournament.
DSC_0287
Ricoh Women’s British Open!
DSC_0288
The welcome sign!
DSC_0292
The famous lighthouse at Turnberry.
DSC_0300
The Trump International Hotel at Turnberry.
IMG_8700
A panorama of the 12th hole at Turnberry. It is so beautiful with the water and the lighthouse in the background.
IMG_8713
One of the flags blowing in the wind.
IMG_8724
A panorama of the 8th green. If you look closely, you may notice the rock in the background. This is called the Alisa Craig.
IMG_8730
Selfie with the 8th green! As you can see it was VERY windy!
IMG_8734
The fescue and the dark rain clouds.
IMG_8736
The hot chocolate I got at the tournament. It was so nice on such a chilly day!
IMG_8744
One of my favorite golfers- Stacy Lewis- tapping in her par putt.
IMG_8766
Scotland- “The Home of Golf”
IMG_8769
My mom standing underneath the British Open sign!
IMG_8775
The flags on the driving range… The Women’s British Open is so diverse! 
IMG_8776
The main leaderboard.
IMG_8782
The ominous rain clouds heading right towards us!
IMG_8785
A panorama of the sky. It is so amazing because you can see blue sky on the left but the rest of the sky is black!
IMG_8795
Selfie!
IMG_8796
The “donut” bunker!
IMG_2950
My mom and I loved the British Open!
IMG_2951
Selfie with the lighthouse!
IMG_2953
Teeney!
IMG_2962
A picture of me taking a picture!
IMG_2965
The leaderboard and I!
IMG_2971
We love it here!
IMG_2992
The leader- Suzann Petersen- lining up her putt on the 11th hole. She made the putt for birdie!
DSC_0302
DSC_0325
The Inverlea Guest House!
DSC_0303
A beautiful flower in the Inverlea Garden.
DSC_0319
Another rose in the garden.
IMG_8839
Vito’s… Yum!
IMG_8840
My penne bolognese!
IMG_8841
My wonderful vanilla ice cream!

Today was an amazing day. I am glad I was able to finish my blog and catch up!

Thank you for reading! Bye✌️

One thought on “Scotland Day 2⛳️

Leave a Reply

