ARIZONA FUN🌵🌞

This past week I was lucky enough to travel to Scottsdale/Phoenix, Arizona with my mom and my friend Jessica. The two main reasons we went were to visit my godmother-Tina- and to golf.  Jess and I are both on the golf team at Rosemount High School and as the golf season has just begun and matches are quickly approaching, we practiced and played golf ALL WEEK.

We planned this trip just before Christmas (one of the best Christmas presents ever!) and had to wait exactly 97 days since the day we planned it. (Yes, we used a countdown app😄). It was a long time to wait, but we made it!

Our trip began on Saturday March 21st. We went out to dinner to Big Bowl (http://bigbowl.com) with both of our families. (Me, my mom, my dad, Jess, Jess’ dad, Jess’ mom, and Jess’ sisters Gabi and Rachel) I ordered a stir fry and it was DELICIOUS! 🍜🍲 After eating, we said our goodbyes and headed off to the airport. When we arrived at the airport, we checked our bags, got checked in, made it through security, found our gate, and boarded the plane. The plane ride (which was VERY late at night) consisted of playing a fun game called spot it (http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/91FlNKhyiQL._SL1500_.jpg), taking LOTS of pictures of the city at night, laughing, and sleeping. IMG_3693

View from the sky!

When we landed, Tina (my godmother) picked us up and we immediately drove to her house. We were all very tired from the long day, so getting to sleep in a real bed rather than an airplane seat felt amazing!

The next day we got up late and went to watch the LPGA Founder’s Cup Tournament at Wildfire Golf Club. We were able to watch many of our favorite golfers, including Stacy Lewis, who was in the leading group at the time. Watching all of those great golfers in beautiful weather was so fun, I enjoyed every minute of it. Here are some images from the LPGA Founder’s Cup Tournament:

IMG_4160 IMG_3713

Following the tournament, we practiced on the range at a nearby course called Stonecreek Golf Club. After the range, we ate at an exceptional Italian Restaurant called Crust. I ordered Penne pasta with meat sauce and meatballs and Jess had Penne alla Scottsdale. We all enjoyed our meals very much! IMG_3745 IMG_3746

Our meals at Crust.

After we finished our dinner (we actually didn’t finish the meals because the portions were HUGE; we had to take our leftovers home) we got ice cream from Rita’s next door. The twist ice cream was amazing! 😍🍨

IMG_3756 IMG_3754

Monday morning we got up very early because we had a 7:12 tee time at Long Bow Golf Club. The course was very fun to play, although there was a lot of desert hazards! Check out the pictures below from Long Bow: IMG_3765 IMG_3766 IMG_3771 IMG_3808 IMG_3812 IMG_3823 IMG_3826 IMG_3828   Following the round at Longbow, we went to the Thirsty Lion for lunch, which was located in the Tempe Marketplace. While waiting for our oven-baked pretzel and french dips, we were able to capture beautiful pictures of flowers, butterflies and the surrounding area.    

  

IMG_3867

After lunch at the ThirstyLion, we played golf (again). Jess and I played at Orange Tree Golf Club in a Twilight Round. We were paired with two nice men- John and Ken. It was a very fun round, however, to our dismay we didn’t see a single orange tree on the course. 🍊

        

One of the best parts about the round was that a steak dinner was included in the price, so we had a gourmet meal following the round! (YUM!)

At last, after playing about 30 holes of golf that day, we arrived home and relaxed. We even played operation and could not stop laughing. 😄 Monday was a very good day!

Tuesday we were lucky enough to wake up to Krispy Kreme (brought home by Tina). Since there are no longer any Krispy Kreme stores close to our house in Minnesota, it was a taste of the past, and they were scrumptious!

Now that we were filled up with doughnuts, we went with Tina to work. She works for the First Tee of Phoenix and her office is at the 9-hole course at the First Tee of Phoenix. Because this course is a little shorter, it is great for short game practice. (We spent one hour on 2 holes!) At about noon, my mom, Jess and I left the course and headed for the Spring Training Game. After going to the Will Call Window (we forgot our tickets in Minnesota😁; it was the only thing we forgot), we found a spot in the right field lawn. Many people attending the game were serious about watching the Cubs and the Oakland A’s, but Jess and I mainly wanted to tan. We also got lots of food including a chicken wrap, nachos, and gelato. Here are some pictures from the game:

 IMG_4003 IMG_4004 IMG_4006  IMG_4179
As it was about 90 degrees out, after the game, we wanted to stay inside to cool off. Back at Tina’s office, we played Jenga for a while (another blast from the past) and it was so fun! Who knew building blocks could be so fun?! We even time lapsed our block creations. 😂 About an hour later we practiced a little longer, but we were pretty tired. As we were leaving, we took pictures by the First Tee of Phoenix Sign:

  

Jess and I were still very hot when we got back to Tina’s house, so we decided to jump in the pool. It was pretty cold because the pool heater wasn’t turned on, but it felt very nice. The pictures of us jumping into the pool that night didn’t turn out so well, but I have attached pictures from the next day that had better lighting. (My face is a little weird in the cannonball picture).

 That night for dinner we enjoyed delicious tacos made by my mom. 😍👍 Before bed, we played a few games of Mario Kart, which is one of my favorite wii games. Jess and I were pretty good because we had both played it before, however, Tina was struggling a little. It took her a while but by the end of our trip, she moved from 12th place to 10th place! 👏🎉🏆🎮

The next day we woke up, had the leftover Krispy Kreme doughnuts and went to Coco’s Bakery Restaurant. Tina had left for work very early in the morning, so it was just Jess, my mom, and I. We all enjoyed our breakfasts very much. (Here is a picture of my pancakes).

 Following breakfast, we headed to Lookout Mountain Golf Club. This was one of the most beautiful golf course I have ever played. The turn was located at a lookout point where you could see for miles in all directions. What made the round even better was that on the second hole, I chipped in for birdie!! ⛳️ Here are all of the pictures from Lookout Mountain:

 After Lookout Mountain, Jess and I swam and hula hooped. We even took slow motion videos of the hula hooping!  We would make up little challenges to do and we were both determined and motivated to complete the challenges. We were laughing so much!
Unfortunately, this was the night Jess had to leave. On our way to the airport, we stopped for dinner at Outback Steakhouse. I had an Outback Burger and it was VERY good. Jess and I also had strawberry virgin margaritas to drink, which were also tasty.

 Finally we had to say goodbye to Jess. It was sad, but we had had such a great vacation. After seeing her safely through security, we headed back to Tina’s house. In the parking garage, I took these beautiful pictures: (who would have thought? in the parking garage!)

 When we got home, we decided to watch Divergent because we were planning on seeing Insurgent the next day. (The second book of the series). Divergent is such a good movie!
The next day I had the privilege of suntanning and reading outside in the beautiful weather for about 2 hours. It was amazing. Every time I got hot, I would just jump in the pool! The only slight problem was that one of Tina’s dogs (Bella) would bark at an imaginary lizard under the umbrella every once in a while. (I know, crazy dog right?) Overall, Thursday morning was wonderful. When Tina got home from work, we left for the movies, stopping at Chipotle on the way.
At the movies, we bought popcorn (of course!) and a slushy. Just as I expected, the movie was really good. However, it was very different from the book. The next movie, Allegiant, comes out next March and Teeney and I are very excited to see it. 😊
For dinner that night, we went to Bootleggers-Modern American Smokehouse. The St. Louis Ribs were almost perfect. (Though somewhat hard to eat with braces). As you can see from this picture, I liked them:

 The next day, sadly, was our last day in Arizona. We tried to make the best of it. My mom and I played nine holes of golf at Stone Creek Golf course at 6:56 Friday morning. The round included breakfast at the course restaurant after, and I ordered “buttermilk divots.” The best part about the meal was that I was able to practice putting while waiting for the meal because the table was right next to the putting green! The pancakes (“divots”) I ordered were very good.

Following golf, I took advantage of my last few hours in the sun by tanning, reading, and playing ping pong with Tina. (“Teeney,” as I call her) A few times I hit the ping pong ball over the fence and into the street, but I made a game of timing myself when I ran out to get it. I was sad when I had to leave Teeney’s house, especially because I had to say goodbye to the dogs. I took some pictures with them so I would remember how cute they are.

  

Bella is on top and Bosco is on the bottom. (Aren’t they so cute?)
Unfortunately, even though we left in time, we weren’t able to make it to Joe’s Crab Shack for dinner because of traffic. I was sad at first (I LOVE crab), but I knew that we didn’t want to take the chance of missing our flight. Instead, I tried chicken and waffles for the first time at the airport at Lolo’s Chicken and Waffles Restaurant. This combination of flavors was delicious!

Finally it was time to say our goodbyes. I might not see Teeney until August, so it was hard to leave her. As you can see from this Instagram post, we were pretty sad:

Even though leaving was hard, this was such an AMAZING trip and I am so thankful I was able to go to Arizona. 🌵🌞🌴🌷
s9155_1__94477.1405357028.220.220
This quote is important to remember when traveling and I believe we went with all of our hearts on this trip. ❤️💗
Thank you for reading this! Leave any questions, comments, or concerns below. 😊
3 thoughts on “ARIZONA FUN🌵🌞

Leave a Reply

